

Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station PO Box 600, Lepreau, NB E5J 2S6

August 31, 2023

The Honorable Jonathan Wilkinson Minister for Natural Resources Canada 580 Booth Street, 21st Floor, Room: C7-1 Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E4 Canada

Dear Minister Wilkinson:

Subject: Support for the Integrated Strategy for Radioactive Waste and Recommendations

NB Power recognizes nuclear energy as a vital tool in meeting climate targets, achieving a netzero emissions economy for 2050 and ensuring a continued safe and secure energy system in the face of global challenges.

Achieving these goals successfully depends on not just having the right technology and resources in place, but also assurance to Canadians and Indigenous people that there is a long-term waste management solution for the radioactive waste that results.

All radioactive waste at Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station (PLNGS) is safely managed in accordance with the station's operating license issued by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and aligned to national and international standards. However, it is recognized that not all waste has fully developed long-term disposal plans.

NB Power would like to recognize the efforts of the Nuclear Waste Management Organization (NWMO) in developing an Integrated Strategy for Radioactive Waste Management in Canada. Specifically, the strategy addresses aspects of long-term waste management of some low-level, intermediate-level, and non-fuel high-level radioactive wastes. NB Power believes that the strategies recommended, along with your government's support would achieve the goal of providing long-term solutions for all radioactive waste.

NB Power would like to request that the government recognize the work that has been done to develop the Integrated Strategy for Radioactive Waste and endorse the recommendations as an effective next step towards the implementation of disposal for all of Canada's radioactive waste.

Sincerely,

Brett Plummer Plummer Date: 2023.08.29 12:02:32 -03'00'

Brett Plummer

Vice President Nuclear and Chief Nuclear Officer

BP/JN/nr

cc. Brett Plummer, Nick Reicker, Amanda Gardner, Alex Bardsley, Jason Nouwens, Kathleen Duguay (NBP)